• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

trying to bulk up a little..

triceratops3

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 27, 2010
Northern VA
Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new to the hide and I want to hopefully learn a lot, and i already have. But now i have a few questions about physical fitness and strength training.

First off I not really that big at all, I'm 5'6" tall and weigh around 120 lbs. I feel that I'm decently strong for my size but I'd like to get stronger and bulk up more. I don't really have any weight equipment, just 10-40 lb dumbbells, and a chin up bar. Could you guys give me some help on what i should do? I'd prefer to start with body weight exercises such as push ups and chin ups and stuff until I get a weight bench.

Like how often should I do these exercises and so fourth, also about how many calories should i aim to get everyday? 3000? or more? and what kind of foods should i be eating? I'm not really that active now but in a few weeks track will be starting up. sorry for all the questions but i just have no idea where to start. if you need anything clarified just ask. Thank you in advance.

Re: trying to bulk up a little..

eat, eat, eat. hit the gym 6 days a week. remember, eat, eat, eat. u can work out all u want, but if u don't eat u wont get the gains.

Don't start bulking up on calories until your body tells you that you need them , otherwise it's just wasted money & food.
Try doing basic exercises that will stress your larger muscles....
Dumbell squats (low reps) 5 sets
Dumbell flyes (med reps) 4 sets
Dumbell curls (high reps) 6 sets

Take in lots of lean proteins, at least one gram per pound of body weight. Fish, chicken, lean pork etc.

Bulking up is easy! Just get married
smile.gif