• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Tubbs final finish question?

onestar

Private
Minuteman
Apr 8, 2008
North Carolina, 27052
Guys I have a new Savage 22-250 that I need to shoot to break in. My question is should I just shoot regular ammo and then clean after every shot or would it be better to shoot the Tubbs treated projectiles and then clean? I have a box of the Tubbs bullets with like 5 or 6 different grit bullets. I have never used the Tubbs system before but have read several posts and some guys say it helps with accuracy and fouling and some say they can tell no difference. I have never read anything that claimed that it hurt the accuracy of the barrels.

I’m sure that you guys will probably say for me to shoot regular ammo first and see how it does but I wanted some opinions, especially from some of you guys that have used the Tubbs system. Thanks!

Re: Tubbs final finish question?

This has been covered a million times, use the search! On a factory tube, I would use Tubbs Final Finish to break it in. Follow the instructions on the kit.

once again...have a need for this product.....if your safe queen shoots good....leave it the fuck alone and live your life....

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BOLTRIPPER</div><div class="ubbcode-body">once again...have a need for this product.....if your safe queen shoots good....leave it the fuck alone and live your life.... </div></div>

Since you don't know how the FUCK to read, there hasn't been a shot down the barrel yet.