• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tumbler only?

300wmSlick

Slick
Supporter
Minuteman
Feb 18, 2017
Indiana
So does anyone use an ultra sonic cleaner for their brass? Or just use a vibrating tumbler?
Currently I am just using a Lyman tumbler, but I also have a (small) ultra sonic cleaner I could use as well that I've used on gun parts and the wife's jewelry in the past.
Would use the ultra sonic cleaner do as good of or close to as good of a job as my tumbler?
I'm pretty new to reloading so I figured I would see what other people's opinions are on this issue.
Thanks for any advice/input.

John

I think the consensus is that ultrasonic is third in line after vibratory and then steel. Here is a good comparison.

People use everything.
Before, I used steel but it kept my necks very clean inside and caused inconsistencies when I settled the bullets.
Now I use vibrating tumbler because I like to leave the carbon inside the neck

I start by depriming the brass. This allows the primer pocket to be cleaned and prevents air from being trapped in some cases thus preventing the liquid solution from cleaning the inside of the case.

Put the cases in an ultra sonic cleaner for 1 hr. Solution is 1/4 teaspoon of Lemishine to 1 pt of water. Add 2-3 drops of Armor All Wash & Wax.

NOTE: Don't keep brass in solution more than 1 hr or increase the amount of Lemishine. Your brass will turn pink. The solution will contain the primer and carbon residue that would have contaminated your tumbler dry media. Therefore, your dry media will last a long time as it is only used for polishing and not cleaning. This method also keeps primer & carbon residue in a solution and not in a tumbler where it can become airborne.

Dry in a Lyman Cyclone brass dryer for 1 hr.