• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tumbling brass

grunt0311

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 25, 2008
OH
I have been reloading brass for about 12+ years now and have never tumbled brass. I hear that most guys do. What are the advantages of tumbling brass? Any advice I would appreciate.

Thanks

Re: Tumbling brass

00 steel wool works well for me and an ultrasonic cleaner with 1/2 and 1/2 Hot Water and Hot Vinegar plus a couple drops of Dawn Dish Soap

"What are the advantages of tumbling brass?"

JPipes puts it in a nut shell. Wipe your cases clean and it will do you just as well. And did so for all of us prior to about '75 when tumblers first became widely available, all other comments about "die wear" and "easy to see defect" not withstanding!

I have always used steel wool for cases. I didnt know if there were any advantages tumbling or not. Thanks for the help. I wont have to spend $$$ on a machine that tumbles. $3 steel wool works well for me.

I never tumbled brass for years until I got a tumbler. Now I always have nice shiny brass. Shooting action pistol and rifle games a lot of brass hits the ground and gets dirty. I'm sure polished brass runs better through progressive presses and auto loading weapons as well. It's so easy there's no reason not to tumble.

I do reload in volume. Have little over 1k rounds for each caliber that I have. I just have used steel wool to clean cases. Does the tumbling get the brass cleaner than using steel wool? How long would it take to tumble 200-300 rounds?

So what kind of tumbler is everyone using? Please provide link if possible. There is a gun show this weekend so I might think about get one.