• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

UBR 2.0 on a LR308/SR Buffer Question

ShooterwithNoName

Regular Guy
Minuteman
Jan 14, 2012
Central WV
Hey guys, so I wanted to ask about this, I didn't see anything directly related to this question so my apologies if this has been asked before.

So I picked up a UBR for my Stag 10 here on the hide. Got it installed today, awesome solid stock. I started playing around with buffers for it and found this:

Before the UBR I had a standard AR15 buffer tube with a short 308 buffer installed. I installed the UBR, which comes with a spacer that fits down inside the buffer tube to make up the difference in length between the UBR tube and a standard AR15 length tube, as the UBR tube is longer.

I dropped the spacer in, dropped my short 308 buffer in on top of the spacer. The bolt wouldn't cycle back all the way, it would allow the bolt stop to catch the front of the carrier but wouldn't go back far enough to allow the bolt head to go past the bolt catch.

So I pulled the spacer out and put the short 308 buffer in by itself. The bolt would now go past the bolt catch and catch on the bolt face as it is supposed to. But now the carrier will go too far back into the buffer tube and would strike the back of the receiver and front of the tube.

So I left the spacer out and installed a standard Spikes AR15 length buffer... Perfect. The standard AR buffer WITHOUT the spacer is allowing my bolt face to catch on the stop and the bolt carrier is stopping about 3/16" short of hitting the back of the lower/ front of the buffer tube when bottomed out on the standard AR buffer...