• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Understanding Velocity SD/ES Variation

DenverDave

Private
Minuteman
Feb 17, 2017
Hello,
I am new to reloading enjoying it and learning a lot. I am hoping someone can help me with a question I have about why velocity SD and ES varies with different Powder charges with all other variables being the same.

For example load A has a 40gr charge and a high SD/ES while load B has a 41gr charge and a low SD/ES. Both load A and B use same bullet, powder, primer, brass, seating depth and neck tension.

Thanks

It has to do with pressure curves starting from inside the case to the muzzle end.

Explosives always scale geometrically, not linear. (Example you cannot say .1 grain of X powder gives say 10 FPS so that means going from 42.0 to 43.0'will give me Y FPS)

that being said what happens at the muzzle end is important too regarding how much turbulence is created on the exit for the bullet.

Wayyyyy to much for 99% of us to worry about. All we need to know is :
-theres a node my rifle/ammo combo likes. find it
-neat full case fill is desired (decrease surface area for more controlled burn) *exception working with reduced velocity, subsonic or fire forming loads).

explosives are also finicky... the more you go away from molecular integrity (i.e. Liquid explosives vs solids) the more variations there are.

The only other thjng thing I'll mention about the "explosion"
Is temperature scaling with pressure to achieve detonation velocity.