• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

F T/R Competition Upgrading my rig for F-class

SomeOtherGuy

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 29, 2012
UP Michigan
I've been shooting F-Class at 600 yards for the last 6 1/2 years whenever I have time, which is typically only 2-3 times a year. So far I have only used .308 rifles, including my FN SPRA1, a Howa Varmint 20, and a Savage 10 with 26" barrel and B&C stock. Lately I seem to be the only person shooting a .308 and I'm looking to upgrade my caliber and rifle. So:

1) Is there any reason 6.5 Creedmoor with a 24" barrel would not be a good choice?

2) I've been happy with aluminum bedded fiberglass stocks (B&C, McMillan or HS Precision) but chassis systems are really common now. Any reason I wouldn't want to use something like the KRG Bravo or MDT Oryx chassis? Does the chassis have any benefits for practical accuracy?

Thanks in advance.

Reactions: DanSavage
I shoot my 6.5 creedmoor in f class. I prefer a bedded A5 but that is just me. 6.5 creedmoor is a great all around caliber. Good for prs too.

No, and no.

OTOH, I have been a .260 shooter for going on two decades, and see no reason to switch now, and; aside from the cool factor, there is no reason to assume that a properly bedded traditional stock has suddenly ceased to function in a functional and accurate manner.

A lot of what folks do regarding rifles and competition is driven by marketing and cool factor. While I make no effort to stand in the way of modern commerce; I have long been forced to be more sensible and less compulsive in my own commerce, in no small way because of the liltingly hypnotic call of SWMBO.

If it works, use it, either way.

Greg