• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Using DA instead of BP, Alt and temp, throws off AB trajectory chart

3of30

Private
Minuteman
Aug 10, 2018
Good evening,

I am currently using AB for my clac. I have never been able to get my actual shooting results to match up with my ballistic calc charts. I have been shooting and competing for a couple of years now, and whenever I stray from my home range and rely on my calc for data it is way off. It usually takes me two stages to get my Dope right then all is good. Which is annoying at best..

So today I loaded up some rounds and hit the range. I verified my zero, and drops for 100m, 200m, 300m, 500m and 800m (all the range had for distances).

When I plugged the current weather condition into the calc from my kestrel the drops were close (within .3m for most, not as close as id like). Also I was chronoing all my rounds and using the average for the calc (SD around 9.0).

Then when I change my AB app settings to use DA instead of BP, Alt and temp, the numbers are way off.

Example: DA taken from my kestrel was 660M. Plugged it into AB and my trajectory chart was way off. If I ramp my DA to 2000M in the AB app my trajectory chart lines up with my actual drops.

How can this be when 660M is the reading taken from my kestrel?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Shooting AIAT 6.5CR
140 ELD-M 41.5gr H4350

Last edited:
Rule number 1, pay the $1.99 for the CDM. It is based on Litz and his team shooting the heck out of the specific rounds, NOT using a standard, non changing B.C. Using a standard B.C. doesn’t take into account the different things bullets do as they slow down.