• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Variations in LC 308 brass - ramifications

CaptainH

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 17, 2009
Ohio
I am new to long distance shooting. I have been an avid handgun and shotgun reloader for some time and never really worried about variations in the brass affecting accuracy in my USPSA and IDPA pistol loads. I purchased 1,000 rounds of once fired 308 brass from Scharch and I will be working up some loads for my Savage 12 F/TR to shoot out to 1,000 yards. I selected the Sierra 155 Palma bullet. Just to find out if there was a difference I started weighing my cases. They range from a low of about 173 grains to 176+ with the majority falling around 174 - 175.8 grains. Will this spread in weight (translated into varying case capacity) significantly affect my groups at long distances?

Thanks.

Re: Variations in LC 308 brass - ramifications

The <span style="font-style: italic">wind</span> will significantly affect your groups at long distances more than any slight variance in case capacity.

Don

Calculate the percentage variation in your lot of brass and tell me what you think.

Way back when I first started shooting .308, I bought a 500-piece lot of LC mixed headstamp brass and found much greater variation than you report. Sorry, forgot the spread. I sampled 20 or 30, calculated the standard deviation, and sorted them into three lots of light, nominal, and heavy, with the line at +1 sd and -1 sd from the mean.

I couldn't tell a difference when the lots got mixed up after two reloads. 600 prone was the only place I could hold hard enough to appreciate the accuracy, and 1 MOA up in impact after 7-10 rounds, and chasing the wind, affected my scores more than the brass did.