• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Velocity question.

sniperghost

Private
Minuteman
Sep 3, 2007
I have a few questions for you guys and every input it’s really appreciated. I’ve been reloading now for about 5 months but I never used a chronograph. Finally few weeks back I got a chronograph (CED M2) from MidwayUsa so today I went to the range and I got a chance to use it. I have a 308 R&D Precision rifle with 26" Schneider 5P 1:11 Twist barrel.
I loaded 30 bullets (308) using 155 A-Max, IMR-4064, 210 M Primers and Win Brass trimmed to 2.012”. OAL 2,813”.

I loaded the first 5 with 42Gr, and I got an average of 2756 L: 2713 -H: 2778
Second 5 bullets with 42.5 and average of 2776 L: 2758 -H: 2797
Third 5 bullets with 43 and average of 2834 L: 2816 -H: 2874
Fourth 5 bullets with 43.5 and average of 2864 L: 2837 -H: 2900
Fifth 5 bullets with 44 and average of 2901 L: 2883 -H: 2915

I use the Hornady reloading manual as a reference and in that book it shows the table for 155 A-Max under IMR-4064 2600 at 43.3 gr. and 2700 at 44.9 gr.
My question is why I get such of big differences than the book shows? And the second question is, is it OK to shoot at 2900 or I should go down on velocity?

Thanks,
Christian

Re: Velocity question.

You also need to look at the twist rate of the barrel in the manual. You probably have a faster twist rate than them.
There is nothing wrong with 2900 fps. In fact, my 155 scenars is pushed at about 3000 fps.

It's pretty common for "book velocity" to be different than what you get. If your gun is shooting accurately without signs of excess pressure, don't worry about it.