• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Viper PST 4-16x50 or 6-24x50? Help!

Huskyfever03

Private
Minuteman
Oct 8, 2008
PNW
I am venturing into the world of magnified optics and have decided to give the vortex viper pst a shot after reading threads on here for weeks.

This will be going on my MWS and is really the first optic I've owned that's been more than 1-4. My budget is $1000 for a scope and mount and have access to a 1000 yard range. Probably won't be taking it that deep yet as I'm a beginner, but it's nice knowing I could. I want the MRAD, but am not sure if I want FFP or SFP. Leaning towards FFP though. I'm not rolling in dough here, so I'd rather not regret making a wrong choice.

Which scope do you guys think is best for me?

Re: Viper PST 4-16x50 or 6-24x50? Help!

With that platform, I'd go the 4-16. IMO, 6-24 seems like too much magnification to me. I'd like to put a 4-16 on my bolt gun.

I read somewhere that the 6-24's are sharper, but I'm not stating that as a fact. I am just repeating what someone else wrote. It is worth investigating before making your purchase though.

I'm of the philosophy of: "it's always better to have more magnification than you need and not use it than to not have enough." I have the 6-24x FFP and have been EXTREMELY pleased with it! The 24x is very nice for bench work, load development, ranging by mils, and just a host of other things. The beauty of a variable power is you choose what magnification you use for a given scenario. I believe there is only a $50 price difference between the 4-16x and the 6-24x and IMO that is $50 well spent for the extra magnification.
wink.gif