• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Vortex Fury and Kestrel Workflow Recommendations

Glitterball

Private
Minuteman
Feb 9, 2023
Wyoming
Hi all. I have been lurking and reading for a long time, but I’m relatively new to the Hide and am just getting into some medium range bolt action.

I’m hoping some members can share some of the pros and cons of the different ways one might use a Vortex Fury with a Kestrel. I’m trying to identify the most efficient workflow for generating reliable ballistic solutions in the field without paying for redundancy that isn’t needed. My initial use cases are hunting to about 400 yds and paper punching to 600 yds. Both will primarily be on open western prairie, where wind is definitely in play.

I just purchased a Kestrel Elite, with the idea that it will serve as my primary ballistic solver. I’m contemplating also picking up a pair of Fury ABs. I can’t help but feel like I’m throwing money away by paying for the AB Elite engine twice, however.

It seems to me there are several potential workflows here. For those pairing similar devices, what’s your preferred workflow? Are any of these options objectively the “best?”

1. Fury AB and Kestrel Elite. Fury pushes range to Kestrel. Use Kestrel for firing solution. Pay for AB Elite engine twice.

2. Fury AB and Kestrel Elite. Kestrel pushes wind to Fury. Use Fury for firing solution. Pay for AB Elite twice.

3. Fury AB and Kestrel non-Elite. Use Fury for firing solution. Pay for AB Elite once.

4. Fury non-AB and Kestrel Elite. Use Kestrel for firing solution. Pay for AB Elite once.