• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Vortex Strike Eagle vs Viper PST Gen II

Gossamer

Private
Minuteman
Mar 18, 2021
Connecticut
Hello, I am just getting into this arena and am looking to pick up my first scope. I have been looking and currently I believe I have narrowed my selections down to either the Vortex Strike Eagle 5-25x56 with EBR-7C or Viper PST Gen II 5-25x50 with EBR-2C reticle. The prices I have been able to find put the Viper PST at about $150 more than the Strike Eagle (~$800 vs $650) and I am trying too see if the jump to the Viper PST warrants the extra cost, or it it will just be money spent that I will not realize the return on?

Thanks for your help!

Check out Liberty Optics. Just got my SE from them for less than $650.

So far, it seems like a solid optic but haven't compared it closely to my friend's PST Gen2. Initial impressions are the turrets on the SE have some decent slop in them in when unlocked. I reached out to Vortex and they said it's within spec based on video I gave them.

Personally not a fan of the 2c reticle, and prefer the 7c.

The SE is a 34mm tube and has more elevation than the PST Gen II (31vs20mil) for a 22lr trainer I’d go with the SE for that reason alone and also because I wouldn’t care about crystal clear glass within 400 yards.
The PST Gen II should have slightly better glass and I believe are made in Philippines vs China for the SE (some people care about that).
I also prefer the 7c reticle which is also available on the PST.

I wouldn’t pay minimum advertised price for either one, shop around and you should get a decent price.