• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Vortex vs Nightforce

Islandactual

Private
Minuteman
May 12, 2021
Van isl
On the fence between a Nightforce NX8 4-32X50 and a Vortex razor hd 4.5-27x56. I've had lots of (positive) experience with Vortex but have yet to own a NF, this is going on my new .308 build. Leaning towards the NF after handling them both in person but I just can't get over the warranty Vortex provides, whereas NF only covers manufacture defects etc. Id like to hear your first hand positive and negative experiences with both!

The warrenty is a big part of why I got the razor. Scope is amazing. Check out the chart lowlight did on tracking.

Attachments

• image-1059x1440.png
    image-1059x1440.png
    697.5 KB · Views: 1,676
The Razor, even though its a pretty old design these days, is a much nicer, more well-rounded optic.

The NX8 suffers from some rather well documented short comings. There are better options at the $2k price point.

Edit; I should add the caveat that usage plays into this decision. On a hunting rifle the weight difference would play a pretty big factor, and the issues with the NX8 are less glaring when you can focus on a single target at a single distance.. For target usage, the Razor is the clear winner. The eyebox, and parallax issues with the NX8 make it a poor choice for transitioning between various targets at different ranges.

Last edited:
NF warranty is better than mentioned. I have returned a heavily used NF for repair and it was quickly returned refurbished at no cost. The NX8 is smaller and lighter. I will say my NX8 is no match to my ATACR. You say you have handled both so go with your gut.