• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Want to move

rero360

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 30, 2008
South Pasadena, CA
I've only been here in CA for 2.5 years, coming from NY, and I'm ready to pull stakes for someplace better. I figure I have one year left on my current enlistment and finish my current schooling shortly before then (convenient) so unless I can find a kickass job with a huge paycheck or I get deployed (which would only delay the move) I'm out of here in a year.

Now I know I have plenty of time to find someplace to move to, and I've started whittling it down going by climate, tax burdens, cost of living and gun laws. I've also looked at job availability but thats something thats always going to be in flux. I am a machinist by the way, experienced in both CNC and manual machines.

So far my top picks are Texas, PA, Indiana, Florida, Ohio, Washington, Utah, Tenn. Nevada, the Virginas, Kentucky, and New Hampshire. With Washington being the only one that doesn't allow SBRs as far as I can tell, which I kind of want one, concealed carry and suppressors are the most important to me, gun wise. Good hunting, low cost of living and good job opportunities are extremely important as well.

The states that I will not even consider are NJ, NY, Illinois, Hawaii, Delaware, Mass, CA, Iowa and Minnesota.

So I know we have members all over the country and all have insight into their states more than just numbers, hence me asking you all for your advice and knowledge.

I'm interested in your thoughts.

Re: Want to move