• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Wanting a new long range set-up.

Silver_Bullet_00

Private
Minuteman
Mar 15, 2010
North Carolina
I'm new to long range shooting. I'm an avid hunter and have taken many deer around 200 yards, but I have never tried a shot beyond 350 yards. I have competed in air rifle and .22 rimfire competitions when I was younger, and I'm a Vet so I know the basics of marksmanship.

I am looking to purchase a .308 rifle and scope for long range shooting out to 1000 yards. I have read through many forums but have yet to make a decision. The purpose of the rifle is punching paper, maybe some hunting, and maybe some form of long range competition shooting in the future. As for a rifle I'm looking at either a savage LE series (don't know which savage le model is the best option though), or a dpms lr308 with a 24in heavy barrel with jp trigger upgrades, compensator ect.

As far as a scope I like the Nightforce NXS with FFP. The glass is really nice, but I want MOA-MOA with a ffp and I dont see anyone selling one with a npr1 recticle. I've never picked up an us optics and looked through it, but it looks good on paper. The Vortex Viper with a FFP, zero stop, lit recticle, for 849 is more in my budget and seems like a deal, but I have never looked through one of them.