• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Wanting to build a LR rifle from an AR

AR308

Private
Minuteman
Feb 24, 2009
Nashville, TN
I got tired of feeling like I am the only one without an AR working at my Guard base. I work there full time and everyone is always talking about it and I can't take it anymore! So I recently bought a DPMS LR-308 lower receiver from a local shop and I started my voyage towards AR bliss. Unfortunately I couldn't have picked a worse time to do this and prices are outrageous if I plan on actually building a rifle before 2010. After paying double the price for a LPK, I now realize that this is going to be an expensive adventure. But in my opinion, worth it. So I'm a complete newb and I'd like to tap on the experience on this site. I'm wanting to built my first to be for range use and I want to make sure that the thing runs like grease lightning.

My first order of business it to get the lower built complete and ready for the upper. So I've been told that I should look at 2 stage match triggers like the RRA. Any recommendations on this?

Are there any parts in the LPK that I should upgrade other than the trigger assembly?

I'm planning on getting the DPMS tactical grip and the Magpul PRC-308. Any problems with these products?

Once I get all this stuff together, I'm going to start working on piecing together an upper.

Thanks for the help!

Re: Wanting to build a LR rifle from an AR

Giessele makes the best AR 2-stages. That is what will eventually go in my AR-10.

Currently I have an Armalite 2-stage and it's crazy heavy even on the lightest setting.