• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Wanting to start ELR target shooting

para1505

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 20, 2010
Columbia MO area
I have been shooting out 1000 yards for about 12 years. I have decided I want to hit targets at 1 mile and 2000 yards. I shoot a 6.5x47L. I have been searching all over the web and comparing different calibers for this. This will be for target shooting only. Also I reload all ammo, shoot no off the shelf ammo. It looks like the .300 PRC would a really good choice to chamber a rifle for this. Or I'm I missing something?

.300 PRC or a properly chambered .300 wm is an easy button unless you want to go to a Lapua or CT size action. IMO a good way to dabble into ELR before going full retard (.375+) to see if you like it. Can push a .30 to 2000yd or even further without much hassle.

Reactions: Biscuits
Get out your checkbook. Every 200 yards beyond about 1,800 costs another few thousand.

I'd just club up to a long, mag bolt-face action now if you know this is what you want, rather than have to go with another whole rig later. Easier to start with a NM which means just a rebarrel to .338 or .375.

Lots of accurate, single shot .50s too, which is practically it's own catagory with a BC of 1+...

Reactions: Northman623
Maybe I should just settle with a mile shot that is with in the 300 PRC capability. I haven't done the math but I think 300 norma would be to costly for me