• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Weird marks on my case neck. Any ideas?

Iamero

Barksa #1 Fanboy & Professional Paper Puncher
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Feb 14, 2017
    Michigan
    I took my die apart and cleaned it all. This is my first time using it but bought it used off the hide a while ago. Anyways, it’s leaving these vertical swipes around about 50% of the neck on every swipe. it’s deep enough you can feel it with my fingernail.

Should I send it back to Forster or is this something I can fix? Or does it not matter at all? If it’s purely cosmetic I don’t really care either.

4A6A69FB-6FC4-4F62-9086-3360066678D1.jpeg

Hornady case lube. I’ve used that with pretty much every other caliber I have and haven’t seen these marks until sizing these last night.

Could be some carbon embedded in your die....but try this.

Lightly chamfer the outside of the necks on a few and try them. See if it stops. Sometimes if you have thin brass on the end of the neck, during sizing, tiny flakes can peel off and go between the brass and the die.

ZY

My Forster dies did that as well.

Forster cleaned them up and they run fine now.

I probably could have done that myself.

Seems unique to Forster for some reason.

I have a FL sizing RCBS die that makes those exact same marks on the necks of my 6.5CM brass. I have tried to figure it out without success so I am following this to find out. It loads and shoots just fine. I have no change in MV, SD, or ES compared to previous reloads with the same components so I have been shooting it as is. I haven't been chamfering prior to sizing since I trim, deburr, and chamfer necks after sizing. I will takes MtnCreek's advice and try to clean and polish my dies.