• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

What 6.5 CM factory match ammo do you recommend to test?

jdm911

Private
Minuteman
Apr 24, 2018
Hey guys, I'm a newbie in the PRS community. Building my first rifle and it should be ready to shoot soon. I'm going to be trying different ammo to see what my rifle likes and was wondering your thoughts on which ones to try. I have a Bartlein M40 contour barrel, 5R
rifling, 8 twist, 26".

Yes agree start with Hornady ELD-M Prime is another recommendation.

I personally shoot some 6 creedmoor from Copper Creek. You have different bullet options with these guys. It is more expensive but never get the occasional flyers you will see from factory loaded ammunition.

Reactions: Jeffd
Yes agree start with Hornady ELD-M Prime is another recommendation.

I personally shoot some 6 creedmoor from Copper Creek. You have different bullet options with these guys. It is more expensive but never get the occasional flyers you will see from factory loaded ammunition.
I have great experiences with Copper Creek also!

Been there, Done that.

Get a box of each so you're not stuck with a pile of ammo that your gun does not like. Try to establish a shooting position that takes as many variables out of the equation as possible. If you're shooting off of a wooden block with a towel for a rear bag.....you may need to reevaluate what you're doing. You want a solid, repeatable position. 5 rounds per group....4 groups per box.

With that barrel, if you're good, I would expect .5moa or better. Any ammo not holding that, move on.