• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What am I missing?

DefinitelynotMatthew

Private
Minuteman
Jul 23, 2020
So I just got this and I've been setting it up for hog and coyote hunting. I've got a Harris 30" bipod in the mail and the Hara Arms CQR has come off for now for the bipod. Maybe I will put it back on later. I'm new to hog and dog hunting. I have the Lucky Duck E-caller, and a tripod stand in my cart for after house renovations. What else do you experienced coyote hunters think is vital for a successful hunt?

my gun.jpg

The most important thing u r going to need is strategy in calling in coyotes. It can be frustrating at times, u r going call dogs in from wrong positions in the field, set up in the wrong wind all things take time to learn. Calling in dogs is about one of the fun thing I've done. All I use anymore is a call and a tripod, some camo

Reactions: supercorndogs
Some of the big things to remember. Don't wiggle and fidget, they are very good at seeing moment from a long ways away. They will usually come in on your down wind side, if they are very educated. They will choose to come in through cover a lot of the time also.

Biggest thing your missing is some experience. Don’t be afraid to go see what works and don’t work in your area as a dry run. If your hunting on private property, just go out one night and see what is moving. Set up and scan with your thermals/NV. People hunt with far less and are successful.

If you want to see whats in an area, going out at night with a howler or a siren, and getting them all yipping and howling is a pretty good way.