• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle Scopes What Case for rifle with a scope

TommyTwoGuns

Private
Minuteman
Mar 8, 2018
I am new to precision shooting and hope this post in in the right forum (mods feel free to move it). There is lots of intel about how to select, mount, and zero a scope. But once that is done the rifle and scope have to be move to and from the range/what ever and stored. This often involves lots of bumps along the way which may well require the shooter to zero the scope again.

I just got a Tikka and am wondering about getting the best case to make sure after I go through the effort of selecting, mounting and zeroing the scope I won't have to do it again because I hit a bump in the road driving to the range or bumped the rifle against a tree humping through the woods. I have been using a Pelican case for my P90 but it is a lot smaller than the Tikka and I use it in part because I store the p90 on my boat (42 foot sailing catamaran I cruise on for months at a time in the Bahamas) and want a waterproof case. I doubt I would take the Tikka on a cruise and may well need to store it for the winter season when I cruise in the tropics. Any intel on cases in general and specific ones for my needs welcome.

I like the Pelican protector cases. The relevant models are the 1700 1720 and 1750 depending on how large of a case you want.
I'm almost certain the 1750 should be able to fit your rifle. My 50cal Barrett fits in one.