• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What did I Do Wrong, Help!

ShootnFool8

STILL LEARNING
Supporter
Minuteman
May 28, 2018
Colorado
Never had this happen. Self taught reloader, been for about 4 years now. Was shooting the other day, and the case had a ring around it. About a 1/4" from the base. Also half the brass was open. Can someone give me a explanation of what happen. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Tried uploading pics, but wouldn't let me.

C.B.T.O. - 2.892 (Mag Length)
338 LM - 6th Reload

Called a case head separation... Usually caused from pushing the shoulder back to far each reloading if it happened at 6.

How do you have the sizing die set up and what are you doing to measure how far your bumping the shoulder back?

It's a FL sizing die, /bushing. Using the Sinclair measurement deal. Uh, hope that helps
Using Redding dies, .002 but probably doing wrong, obviously.

It's not a probably anything. You measure the fired brass with your comparator, then set you die up so that the brass is sized .002 from that measurement.

You start with die not touching the shell holder at full upstroke. Then start slowly turning the die in and measuring the brass until you get .002 pushed back on the shoulder.

Btw you are probably going to have more from that same lot of brass you have loaded up

Agreed, both with it being a case head separation, and to trash the rest of that lot of brass. If you want to see why, bend a paperclip straight, with a small 90* hook on one end. Run it along the inside of the remaining cases. I bet you feel a ring near the case heads.