• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes What distance to zero at?

BIPMaster

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 20, 2010
Arkansas
I built an 18" precision AR15 last year, and topped it with a Leupold MK4 3.5-10X40 mil-dot scope. They first time I shot it was on my dads property, and the furthest I could get was about 60-ish meters. Yesterday I was on a 100m range so I could properly zero the scope. However, I am stuck on what distance to zero at. I don't foresee being able to go out past 300m anytime soon, so based on that range should I zero the scope at 50m or 100m and then work my dope from there? Any help would be appreciated, as I am still getting into any kind of long range shooting other than 300m ranges with the Army.
Thanks!!

Re: What distance to zero at?

A 100 yard/meter zero is generally fine for shooting at any distance.

100 yards. I would be willing to bet that most people here would recommend 100yards also.

To take advantage of most mil-dot charts and slide cards, 100yds is pretty standard. I'm not sure about what other cell phones are supported, however iPhones there are several options for ballistic calculators, I picked MD Ballistics. It seem to be very user friendly and works great.

If you are precision shooting - 100 yards. If this is a shtf gun a 50 yard zero will keep you within 4 inches out to 300 yards without adjustment, i believe.

Brian litz has an amazing book with ballistics calculator software included and extensive bullet bc data. I wish he or Berger would release an iphone app. I would pay $10 for it.