• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What do you consider "proficient"?

King

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 18, 2008
Warsaw, VA
Hey all,

I am new to ARs in general but I bought a Mk 12 Mod 1 and am using the KAC BUIS on it, the spec 200-600 version. I want to get good with them before I put a scope on the rifle.

My question is what do you all consider to be "proficient" for accuracy with these sights? I can ring steel torso targets fairly consistently at 400 meters and in when I take my time, haven't tried much passed that yet. I painted a couple quarters and other small objects orange but had a terrible time getting them at 100 meters. I was very close but but no cigar. When I add an optic I think they might come into reach as the biggest obstacle was seeing them well.

I know there is no such thing as too much practice but when should I jump to the next stepping stone, or when did/would you?

Also, I have had people tell me these are "Minute-of-man" sights. So what is the smallest target you would go after with these on your AR. I had one guy tell me quarters but I proved to myself that I don't think he was exactly truthful... I'm leaning towards a 4x4 plate at 100 meters.

Thanks,

Martin

Re: What do you consider "proficient"?

Shooting a quarter at 100m with iron sights, while actually keeping your eye's focus on the front sight tip like you're supposed to, would be extremely difficult. You just can't maintain focus on the tip while placing it on what is essentially a .5moa target. Your 4x4 target would be a good point to work on, but quite frankly I'd go ahead and scope it.

If you want to work on your iron sight proficiency, I suggest taking up some CMP/NRA matches if you have any in your area with a purpose built rifle.