• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What equipment do I need?

MrBrown

Private
Minuteman
Jul 12, 2009
College Station, TX
So I've been reloading pistol and shotgun for a couple of years and now I'm about to get into loading for my .308. I have the basic tools for my pistol loads but what am I looking at for loading precision rounds? What dies do you guys prefer? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks -Brown

I've got 155 & 168 smk, laupa brass and imr 4064 on it's way..now if i could only find some match primers...

Re: What equipment do I need?

Depending on the way they are set up, almost any brand dies will work. Personally I prefer Redding "S" bushing dies. But the regular dies will work fine. For seating, The Redding Competition Seater is hard to beat. But if you only shoot 1 type bullet, any seater will do. When I first started shooting rifle, I mad a length dummy for each different bullet. Then just changed the seater stem to fit the dummy for the appropriate bullet.

If you go the dummy route, just mark the side of the case with a Sharpie Marker so they don't get mixed up. I mark them with the bullet type, brand & weight. Then I use a Stoney Point (now Hornady) comparitor to measure the length from the case head to the bullet ogive. Not the OAL to the bullet tip. That changes too much. Mark that on the side of the brass.

Now, is that as clear as mud? I hope I haven't confused you.

Good luck

Yeah I have been looking at getting either the RCBS comp dies or the Redding S type...anything else besides a comparator? Thanks -Brown