• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision What IR Illuminator/White Light for Carbine? + Dual switch

Scwalker83

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Sep 13, 2019
If this is the wrong forum for this, sorry. It seemed like the most relevant.

I've been looking at a few and I'm not sure my Google stuff is up to snuff. I'm pretty new to NV stuff. Picked up WP PVS-23 and trying to get a carbine configured for it.

So far I have the carbine w/ Trij MRO & DBAL I2 & YHM Turbo K DT. I'd like to round it out with a white light & IR light. Being quite new to NV, I should not shoot unsuppressed while NV is on?

Any opinions - Surefire M720V & Surefire 640V? Something else? Something better? Something that's less money but as good?

Surefire Dual plug switch vs TAPS SYNC?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

You can shoot unsuppressed, it's just nicer not too. What kinda stuff do you want this rifle for? Knowing that will change my suggestion for lights and switches. Generally I prefer very standard pressure switches. They are consumable products with hard use and break so spending less money is nice. Additionally, I like to be able to activate both at the same time, or one or the other. You can kinda do that with the TAPS Sync, but I feel more comfortable managing a laser switch at the 12 o clock and a light switch at the 430.

Reactions: Scwalker83
It's primarily a rifle to use with my NVGs. I didn't really think beyond that. Close range but something versatile is always nice.

If it's just for close range, something like the surefire 640v is fine. I misread and thought you said pvs 27, but if you were hunting at longer ranges, a nicer illuminator would be nice.