• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing What kind of accuracy would you expect?

eddybo

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 29, 2008
MS
As a hobby I have built somewhere around 30 rifles thus far. I have a neighbor that I owed a favor who had a completely shot out 788. (8 to 10 inch 100 yard groups) He is a machinist by trade, a great guy and hangs in my shop a bit. I think he is still playing shop teacher since he taught me in high school shop class.
He found a heavy factory barrel off an old 40x laying in my scrap pile and asked what I wanted for it. I told him it was free as was the rebarrel if he would let me do it. We cut a bit off the rear of the barrel and fit it to his action. I pillar bedded the action in the stock last night and got it all together today.

What kind of accuracy would you expect out of a "junk yard dog" like this?

Re: What kind of accuracy would you expect?

Better than 8-10 inches I hope!

depends on the barrel... how many rounds down the bore? if it was pulled with 10K down the pipe, its probably not going to be a tack driver... if it was pulled with 200 rounds cause someone wanted to change calibers, then it may be decent.
Most of the accuracy will depend on what the barrel was doing before it was pulled, but how the new chamber was cut and how well the action was trued and fit to the barrel will also come into play. But be realistic, you cant take a sewer pipe and expect it to be a benchrest rifle just cause it was rechambered and the crown cleaned up.