• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What load data to use .308?

Manhusky

Private
Minuteman
Nov 27, 2020
Colorado
This is probably a noob question, as I have been reloading for about 5 minutes.

I am reloading .308 with 175gn Sierra HPBT and seeing significant max load recommendations between different sites. I currently have 2 types of powder IMR-4320 and VihtaVuori N550

N550
Berger reloading book 46.6gn - VihtaVuori site 45.8gn

IMR-4320
Berger reloading book 43.4 gn - Hodgdon site 45.7gn

I don't plan to reload to max anytime soon, but as a noob I am hoping to see some consistencies so I can be comfortable that I am doing things correctly.
These seem like pretty significant variations, so please let me know if I am missing something, or what information is best to trust.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Attachments

• IMG_0677.jpg
    IMG_0677.jpg
    501.7 KB · Views: 3,678
You can trust both. Pick one and go with it. Read all the "Hand Loading for Long Range" sticky threads on this sub-forum. There is an absolute TON of info in there which will answer many of your questions you may have.

also, Fun fact: the Sierra book doesn't even list N550 or IMR4320 in their reloading manual.

IMR 4320 should be the better powder. It’s close to 4064 in burn rate. N550 is going to be too slow. During the last powder shortage several people tested 4320 and found it a good substitute for 4064 in 308 with 168 and 175 gr bullets. Stay away from max charges in hot weather as this powder is temperature sensitive and can result in high pressure loads.

The 308 will usually find best accuracy in midrange charges so going to max loads is seldom required.