• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What magnification range do you prefer/like?

MAG00

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 9, 2012
NE Texas
Curious to hear others feedback. What magnification range, objective, and tube size do you like or prefer for a rig that will pull double duty as hunting and fun target shooting? And why? For example...3-18x50 30mm tube, 5-25x50 30mm tube, 4.5-14x44 30mm tube, 5-30x56 34mm tube, etc., etc.

The 56mm objective with 34mm tube intrigues me for a hunting rig. It would be a larger and most likely heavier scope but seems it would help with low light conditions and field of view. But I am a novice at this stuff.

so far I am totally hooked of 40'xs but still enjoy 50x's when I can use it and when the need calls for it . I like choices and love having everything from 5 to 50 shame its not more at times knobs are beautiful things some go to 9 while others go to 10 this one goes to 11

Last edited:
Reactions: Faronth
Tube size has nothing to do with light gathering ability or “brightness”

Larger tube size gives more room for internal adjustment range

how a scope works in low light is a mix of internal design, glass quality and glass coatings.

Depending on the hunting style it will work just fine. But that’s not my first pic for a light weight mountain hunt.

people hav been killing deer at 200 yards with crappy scopes for a looong time.

that being said I like the best scopes I can afford. Lol

Reactions: Glassaholic
Tube size has nothing to do with light gathering ability or “brightness”

Larger tube size gives more room for internal adjustment range

how a scope works in low light is a mix of internal design, glass quality and glass coatings.