• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

what oal length for 700 5r 308?

jdutton24

Private
Minuteman
Nov 17, 2011
alabama
im new to reloading myself but my pops has been reloading for years and ive helped him alot but never by myself. we loaded up some 308 for my 5r and he insisted that the oal be 2.795. everything ive read stated at least 2.800. he has an ss older model 7 and he worked up a load for it a few years ago and its quite accurate and his data stated 2.795 oal. i read that 5r throat and chamber are longer so i was wondering what oal u guys running in 5r? are the throats and chambers more consistent that other 700 models? thanks

Re: what oal length for 700 5r 308?

you should see what length will feed from your mag and seat just short of that measurement

i can seat at 2.83 and still feed fine

I've got mine at 2.810. I think i can do 2.830. Yeah every rifle is different. My youth model 700 (.243) i'm subject to 2.795

Well we dont have anything to measure the length as far as i know. So what can we do?

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: rammerjammer</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well we dont have anything to measure the length as far as i know. So what can we do? </div></div>

Remington makes their throats pretty deep and the distance to lands are long so you'll run out of magazine space long before you hit the lands. There's nothing wrong with 2.795 if it works, and depending on how he worked the load up, it may be a fine-tune for the OCW. You need to follow Dan Newberry's guide and get an Optimal Charge Weight (OCW) for the powder and bullet, you plan to use, then you can fine tune it with OAL.