• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What Redding dies for 308 Win?

BullzeyeNJ

Sergeant
Minuteman
  • Mar 17, 2007
    New Jersey
    Hello,

I'm not new to reloading. I own a couple Dillon progressive presses and have been loading handgun for years. I am new to handloading rifle ammo. I want to get started with 308 winchester since that is what my rifles shoot. I bought a Forster Co-ax press that will be delivered this week. Its been backordered for the last couple weeks but I have heard it will be worth the wait. I also have alot of accessories that I need to rifle handloading.

The only thing I have not ordered are the dies yet. I have narrowed it down to Redding b/c I have had great success with them in my pistol loads.

I am going to get the "S" type dies in 308 win. The purpose of handloading for me, right now, is to make ammo that will improve the accuracy of my rifles. I shoot only paper and the distances I will be shooting will be from 100 to 300 yards.

My question to the forum is:

Do I buy the full length sizing die or the neck sizing die?

Is it worth the extra money to buy the seating die with micrometer adjustment?

Re: What Redding dies for 308 Win?

Welcome to the Co-Ax family, buy Hornady lock rings, they are steel and work great in the Co-Ax, I'm kinda wacky so bear with me, in 308 my fired case neck measures .342, I use a Type S neck die with a .339 bushing, then I use a Type S FL die with a .336 bushing for Lapua brass, I also use Reddings Carbide Floating expander ball, with Lapua brass and the .336 bushing it barely touches the inside of the neck, Concentricity is very good.