• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes What scope should I get for my DPMS LR .308?

Drewbeedobeedoo

Private
Minuteman
Apr 7, 2009
NM
Hi, new here and I am extremly impressed with the vast amounts of experience and knowledge here. Well, I am a newbie with the .308 and I was wondering if anyone out there has a DPMS LR .308 that could recommend a decent scope and maybe some other additional equipment to add to its performance. A bipod perhaps? I understand that equipment is only as good as the person using it, but I will get there with education and practice. Thanks in advance!

Re: What scope should I get for my DPMS LR .308?

welcome~!You may want to list a budget so a scope can be recommended.Also how far do you intend to do most of your shooting? Harris bipods are excellent,you can get the swivel or non.

Not knowing what sort of price/performance you're looking for, I can say that the Falcon Menace is an excellent value with Mil turrets matching an enhanced Mil-based FFP reticle and a 4-14 magnification range for under $400.

Search around here some and you'll find plenty of discussion on it. RWSGunsmithing frequently handles group buys for them.

I would like to keep the price within $1,000 or less. I guess I would at least like to reach out to about 1000 yards.

Thanks for your input!

Only two other scopes that I like under $1000 mark.

The IOR 2.5-10 FFP can be had for just under $1000 from Scott @ Liberty Optics (not to be confused with the SFP model) also features Mil turrets and an enhanced Mil-based reticle