• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What should I do???????????????????

sjmpcc022

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
May 30, 2020
Wisconsin
I think I know the answer already but I'm going to ask it anyways.

I just got my rifle put together and started load developement. For now I have 140gr Hornaday Match Monster bullets and IMR 4064. I've come up with a pretty nice mix that seems pretty accurate doing about 2625fps with no pressure signs. My powder drop is 37.1gr. Yesterday I was able to get to a range that goes out to 300yds and the results were satisfying. I wasn't sure how the gun or my ammo would do but everything went pretty well. I do have some H4350 and some 140gr ELD bullets, but since I am brand new at this I think I want to focus on the current load until I learn more later in the season. I don't have a ton of the better stuff and it doesn't seem I will get any soon. I also have another 1000 Nosler Custom Competition bullets on order, and I think they are very similar to the MM bullets. The ogive is further forward towards the point of the bullet, so I have to push the OAL back to 2.785 to get the bolt to close. With a dummy ELD loading 2.820 is no problem.

There is the long winded background, now the question...................... The first match of the season is April 10th. I was hoping to have the chance to get out somewhere and build some data before I shoot a match. As it looks now, that won't happen other than what I did yesterday. I just sent an e mail about one opportunity I may have but I'm not counting on it. I have .2mil at 200yds and 1.0 at 300. I don't have a Kestrel and I learned the Marc Taylor weaponized math at the class I took with him and Frank last year.