• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What to do with a floating lug on a Marlin XT-22?

Nocalphoenix

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Nov 19, 2008
Montana
Ok I have a baseline for accuracy (average of .65 for wolf, Fed 510 and Winchester subsonics) and tore the rifle apart to start looking at what I can tweak. The first thing that leaps out at me is the floating barrel lug. I understand the sliding arrangment will allow the barrel to center itself in the stock but it still seems to be to much of a variable. I am inclined to solder/epoxy the lug in place and then bed from there.

I have even considered taping the rear of the tang and going with a more conventional two point bedding and not even using the barrel lug. I am still new to the rimfire stuff and this floating lug was completley new to me so any ideas are appreciated.

Re: What to do with a floating lug on a Marlin XT-22?

much like the older marlins by other model numbers, that barrel lug is still a bit of a head scratcher.

but taking lemons and making lemonade, you can use the barrel lug as a tuner - by making torque adjusments on the mounting screw you can essentially use it as a tuner.

i've never had my barrel lug loose enough that it slides back and forth freely, so i don't know if that's normal.

i would be of the opinion that if you did solder or epoxy that lug, you would somehow have to make 100% sure it's on cnter before the solder or epoxy is set in. maybe temporarily glue it until you are 100% it is centered by putting it back in the stock, leeting the glue dry, then removing the stock and do the more permanant thing.

i never thought about tapping the receiver for a second mounting bolt, that sounds like a great idea.