• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What to do with this stuff??

JJMoody

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
May 14, 2021
North Idaho
I’ve got bins full of stuff that should be sentimental. Sports, academic awards, trophies, medals, plaques newspaper articles, photos, videos and a bunch of other crap I’ve been hauling around for over 20 years. At one point, this stuff was cool, but after whacking my shin on an 80lb custom fabricated iron behemoth of me doing a wrestling move I was known for in HS, I’m ready to throw the whole lot of it in a dumpster. It’s feeling like a bunch of excess baggage that doesn’t really matter anymore. Never had kids to show it to, I help coach a few kids at the local HS/ college teams, but this junk isn’t actually helping anyone. What do you guys do with stuff like this?

Reactions: 338dude
Most of the family is spread out from Washington to Florida. Nieces/nephews might care some day, but there’s no relationship there. The dump is only a couple miles from my place, so the first layer just made its way there. High school and college stuff mostly. Guess I’ve had that answer in the back of my head for a while. The big bastard trophy just made friends with the scrap metal bin. Stuff from the US open and Olympic trials is still buried and I don’t feel like digging it out just yet, but football jerseys, helmets etc just made some good room to store rakes and such… lol!

Nobody wants to sift through that stuff when you're dead.

Take pictures and make a scrapbook or pay somebody to make a scrapbook. It'll give people something to flip through at your funeral with all the meaning and sentimentality and none of the clutter.