• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What would you change with this setup?

Temp9

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 4, 2012
SLC, UT
I am brand new to handloading, so any and all advice is greatly appreciated. I'm mostly going to be loading for a 16" 1/8 .223 AR, but I will be loading for a .308 bolt gun in the (relatively) near future. Accuracy and cost-savings are my main reasons for handloading. I don't have a hard budget limit, but rather I'm trying to maximize value. Being a college student doesn't allow for much extra funding.

-RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme Master Single Stage Kit - $238 after rebate
--Rock Chucker Supreme Single Stage press
--505 scale
--Uniflow Powder Measure
--Speer Reloading Manual
--Hand priming tool with small and large primer plugs
--Folding Hex Key Set with 0.050", 1/16", 5/64", 3/32", 7/64", 1/8", 9/64" and 5/32" keys
--Universal Case Loading Block, which holds 40 cases in most rifle and pistol calibers
--Case Lube Kit, which includes a 2 oz bottle of Case Lube-2, a case lube pad, 2 case neck brushes for .22 through .30 calibers and an accessory handle
--Powder Funnel for .22 to .45 caliber, including the Winchester Short Magnum calibers
--Chamfer and deburring tool for .17 through .60 caliber
*Most kits seem to come with awful scales and powder measures, but this one comes usable ones. Buying all the pieces separately would cost close to $350-400, if I did my math correctly. Unlike the Lee set, there is nothing here that I would need to upgrade immediately (hopefully).

-RCBS Powder Trickler 2 - $22

-RCBS Shell Holder #10 - $8

-Lee RGB 2 die set - $18

-Hornady Lock n Load Comparator (6 inserts) - $27

-LE Wilson Case Trimmer and holder - $49

-Lyman Xpress Case Prep Center - $124