• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

When do I stop tweaking a load and start practicing more with it?

MMAJunkie

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 26, 2009
Tennessee, USA
First I want to admit I am a tweaker. I have been reloading for 27 years and am always shooting more and more looking for the one hole 3 shot group on every rifle I load for which is 223, 270 308 and 300 wby. The question I have for all of you is when do I stop tweaking loads and spend more time on learning to shoot that load?

I have shot countless .5 moa loads with many running .4moa and even an occasional .3 moa. I mostly shoot at 100 yards but on occasion shoot 200 or 300 max. I only target shoot so to me the search for the ultimate reload is just as much fun as shooting. Should I be happy with .5-.75" moa and spend more time shooting? What guide lines do you use for deciding when to stop tweaking and start shooting the same load more and more?

Thoughts?

Last edited:
Apparently you like shooting groups or you wouldn't do it. Do you have access to a long range steel place? Heck, a .3" group will more than suffice to 1k, even farther.
For me, load development isn't the most fun aspect of shooting, especially this time of year. Even though it's been somewhat of a mild winter, most nicer days the wind is blowing pretty good, so it's not that much fun going to the range. I record my data, so if I had a decent group, not perfected, and want to shoot on the weekend, I'll load 30-50rds from the best group and run with it. It usually gets me by till I can work on it some more.