• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

When selecting a range.

Clamber

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 13, 2010
Utah, USA
Hey guys, I figured this is the best place to put this.

I'm getting my first bolt-action rifle tomorrow, and I'm totally new to precision shooting. I don't have any long range ranges near me I don't think, so I'm going to have to go out into the desert and shoot.

So I'm wondering, what does one look for when selecting a range for this kind of shooting? Apart from the obvious like making sure there's nothing beyond where you're shooting, is there anything else I need to take note on?

Thanks.

Edit: I'm not necessarily talking about 1000yards though.

Re: When selecting a range.

If you can get some kind of berm to put your target on so that you can spot a miss. It helps significantly. Of course, all other safety features apply.

Lots of stuff. Do you want to start shooting with wind, or without? ENV is important if you want to check the performance of your reloads and or factory ammo. Look for a spot that won't put light into your eyes and give the least mirage. Bring lots of water. Brings lots of note paper to record your results. Take pictures of conditions, targets etc. Bring mats, blankets etc unless you are shooting from a bench. If you are shooting 1,000 a good idea is to bring an quad or ATV. At least a mountain bike.

You need to find out the rules that the Forest Service or BLM or State has on the land you will be shooting on. Call and get the rules and a map of the area.