• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

When to get a weather station?

WVshooter

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 21, 2012
NC
I'm just getting started in long range shooting with a rem 5r .308.
My question is: At what point in my progression should I consider getting a kestrel for wind and air density tracking? Should I get one up front and start logging the data and learn to use it with my ballistic calculator as I go or would I be better off sticking with shorter ranges at first while practicing the marksmanship fundamentals I've read about in the getting started stickies?
Sorry if this has been hashed over many times. I may have not used the correct search terms. I'm not even sure if this is the best way to phrase my question. Direct answers or links to relevant threads on this subject would be appreciated.

Re: When to get a weather station?

The closest range to me is 300 yards, probably not enough to worry about I'm guessing but I'll have periodic access to a place to shoot out to 500 and a 1000 yard range for benchrest.

I plan on getting a data book and a LRF soon and I'm going to take a trip back home and try my hand at shooting some steel out to about 525 yards. I'll also have a chance to spend some time at a 1000 yard range at varying distances with some BR shooters. I'm hoping I can at least get on paper at some of the longer targets.
I have the Ballistic FTE program for iPhone and have been playing with it trying to learn how to use it. I just wondered if it would be much more helpful to get my weather readings myself and input them into the software or rely on it's auto function which won't be able to account for the wind at my actual shooting position.
Or am I just getting too far ahead of myself?