• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Where do you measure a LR308 barrel to determine gas system length?

Dev L

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jan 29, 2018
I have a Wilson Combat 6.5 Creedmoor barrel I highly suspect is 3/16" longer than AR15 rifle gas length and 3/16" of an inch shorter than AR10 rifle gas.

I assume I measure from tbe center of the gas port to where exactly? And what should that measurement be for a LR308 barrel for each gas system length?

Just want correct figures before deciding what to do with this barrel.

As a bonus, do different recievers locate the barrel at different depths or do various carriers have different gas key locations or lengths?

IMG_6151.jpeg

just keep in mind, for DPMS-pattern large-frame uppers, there's two different gas-system lengths in play. Probably the most common is the DPMS LR-308 "standard" which uses the common AR-15 gas tube lengths.

The other "standard" is the Armalite AR-10 gas-system length, which is also applied to DPMS-pattern large-frame uppers (and associated barrels). The Armalite AR-10 gas tubes are about 3/8" longer than their AR-15 counterparts, and to further muddy the waters, the Armalite AR-10 carbine gas tube is about ~3/8" longer than the AR-15 mid-length gas tube.

from my own approximate measurements, the AR-15 rifle-length gas tube is about 15-1/8", the Armalite AR-10 rifle-length gas tube is about 15-1/2" OAL.

the AR-15 mid-length gas tube being about 11-3/4" long, and the Armalite AR-10 carbine gas tube being about 12-1/16" long.

Again, these are my own observed measurements from my own samples, whether those are the absolute standard spec dimension, I have no idea, but this is what's worked for me over the years now.