• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Where to start OAL or powder charge?

Billk65

Private
Minuteman
Apr 28, 2009
Bridgman, MI
I am new to reloading and now that I have a couple hundred rds through the barrel I want to try to find what it really likes.
I have a Remington 700 5R, .308, 24", 1:11.25 twist.
If I load to the standard 2.80 OAL I am jumping .155 with SMK 175's and .139 with Scenar 155's.
So, my question is, should I pick a standard powder charge and play with the jump, or pick a standard jump and play with the powder charge first?
I have learned a lot from reading everyone's posts so far, thanks to all.

Re: Where to start OAL or powder charge?

Find a powder charge first then fine tune it with the seating depth.

Powder charge and "book" OAL. Then tweek the group with ogive depth.

Cheers,

Doc

Find your Min and Max powder charges out of the book.

Work your way from the Min to the Max in .5 grain increments. Then go fire a 3-5 rd group of each charge. You should be able to see your groups tighten up and the start to open back up again.

Pick the best powder charges (ie 43gr-44.5gr)

Work your way up in .2 grain increments fireing a 3-5 round group of each. Pick the best powder charge.

Now that you have the best powder charge for your gun, start tweakin the seating depth. Get a Hornady OAL Case Length gauge and the Hornady Bullet Comparator (to measure off the ogive of the bullet). Measure the distance too your lands and start Seating your bullets back in .010" increments to your minimum (say 2.810). Go to the range and fire a 3-5 round group of each. You will now be able to see the optimal seating depth for your gun.

And now you will have the best powder charge.seating depth for your gun.