• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Which ammo to start zeroing the rifle ?

josey88

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 22, 2011
I am new to precision shooting ... I have the .308 Savage 10FCP and I am waiting on the scope . Since I don`t reload (yet , for now) I need to order factory ammo . Which ammo would I need to zero the rifle and start practicing ? I `ll be doing 100, 200 and 300 yards . I know by reading here that the Federal Gold Match 168gr is very good . Also the 175gr . It` s also kind of expensive , at $20.00 the box of 20 rds . Hornady is even more expensive . I have seen some prvy Partizan Match ammo of 168gr and 175gr at much better price . Is this ammo any good ? Can I use the Federal Gold Match to zero the rifle and the Privy Partizan to to practice regularly with some degree of quality ? It is half the price . My question is because I have no clue ... I am starting now and I don`t want to shoot garbage on my brand new rifle . If I can save some money , fine but it if means shooting crap and there is no alternative besides reloading , Then I would shoot only Federal Match ammo or alike . I need ammo advice to start buying some . What about the Winchester X 150GR ? I will apreciate any help from the real professionals here ... Thanks

Re: Which ammo to start zeroing the rifle ?

Stay away from Prvi Partyzan, it's machinegun quality ammo.
Zero your rifle with ammo you are going to shoot. Buy the best ammo you can afford.

Most people recommend FGMM and Hornady for a reason, because it's accurate and high quality. I've never heard of Partizan Match, or Partizan... so i can't comment.