• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Which Bore Guide??

Lavadog0311

Private
Minuteman
Jan 6, 2018
I'm new to the 6.5 Creedmoor game, and I'm getting mixed information on the web. I have a tikka t3x tac a1 and after searching the web and this forum, I can't seem to find what I'm looking for. Which bore guide will work for my rifle? I understand this a newb question, my apologies. Any feedback and or links is much appreciated!

Try a Lucas Bore Guide, they're all I use now.

lucasguide02.jpg

Reactions: A5scott
Can I ask how much the Lucas guides go for? Looks like you just send an email order?

The last one I bought in 2015 was $65.95 and that was for the bore guide and rod guide insert.

I almost forgot, e-mail him first for current pricing and cleaning rod size you'll be using with the guide.

Order from:
Mike Lucas

225 Browns River Road
Lexington, SC 29072
email: [email protected]

Last edited:
Thanks for the feedback fellas! I've checked out Sinclair and Possum hollow, but I'm embarrassed to say I couldn't find the correct size/caliber. Another Question for you: as far as jags go, do you go with the correct caliber or one size down to compensate for the patch?

Reactions: vikingok
Thanks for the feedback fellas! I've checked out Sinclair and Possum hollow, but I'm embarrassed to say I couldn't find the correct size/caliber. Another Question for you: as far as jags go, do you go with the correct caliber or one size down to compensate for the patch?

Depends on jag type. If using a pierce type, I use the jag correct for cal. If using a Parker hale, I use a much small jag. i.e. .22 jag for .264 bore.

I went with the inexpensive route to get started. Tiptop Universal for $15. Think I may need to look in to the Lucas.