• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Which Savage. 308?

Mcgnuggitt

Private
Minuteman
Jan 15, 2022
Ontario Canada
I'm new to rifles, being a pistol guy for years. I we t with a friend who had a tactical Remington 700 and loved smacking targets put past 300 yards (longest range near me).
Anyway, Remingtons are hard to find now that they're insolvent. I have a line on 2 entry level rifles. I'm sticking with. 308 (yes I know 6.5 shoots further and more stable, but 308 is still cheaper and more plentiful where I am and my friends all have 308). Also, I won't often shoot further than 300 yards based on range limitations.
Theres a Savage 10 FCP McMillan and a Savage Axis II Precision at the same price. Which is better?
Want to keep the budget down and I've heard good things about the accu trigger.
Opinions?

10 FCP is far better. I’d stay away from the Savage Axis. Have you considered a Bergara or Tikka T3x? I have a Savage 10 FCP-SR in 6.5 Cm, and it shoots fantastically, but with the options available today I would opt for the Bergara over the Savage for Rem 700 aftermarket compatibility.

Does that stand for Axis II? Some boards suggest they redeemed the quality issues with the old axis. But I appreciate your expertise and input. Tikkas are easy to find here. What's their allure /niche? What model do you suggest for a quality entry level rig?

I’d go FCP before Axis

I’d go Tikka before savage

I’d go Tikka T3X CTR

I’d get .223 for your indented range if you don’t need 308 knockdown power

Reactions: evilsemaj
I have a 110 in .308 (yhat I'm switching to 6.5), a 12FV in .308, and a Tikka CTR 6.5. I recommend getting a Tikka.