• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Which spotting scope should I buy?

Oldmauser

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Apr 2, 2018
I would like to buy a spotting scope which would be capable of identifying my shots at 600 m on a paper target 9 (not a steel target) during an f-class match. I have no experience with spotting scopes so far. Budget- below 1000$. What would be your recommendation?

I shoot a little bit of F-class and the spotting scope I bring to the line is a Kowa 82SV with the 27X LER eyepiece. I have used that scope for about 7 years now to read conditions, score, and call wind for teams. I do not know what a target 9 is in F-class, I'm only familiar with the standard NRA and ICFRA targets.

Since each shot is scored and marked with a spotter or appears on the screen with etargets, you do not need lots of magnification. The 27X of the Kowa is plenty. The rule is mid power spotters and high mag riflescopes.

The Kowa is about $800 for the body and $250 for the eyepiece. The 82SV is very popular in F-class circles, mainly for the long eye relief LER TE-17HD eyepiece. I have a couple more eyepieces for my Kowa.

Next up will be a stand or tripod. But that's another thread.

Last edited:
Thank you @Denys. Do you have angled or straight version? Which one do you recommend?

Thank you @Denys. Do you have angled or straight version? Which one do you recommend?
The 82SV only comes in an angled model, as far as I know. Even if it came in a straight model, you would not want that. Take the angled model, it's the only way to use it from position.

Do you have angled or straight version? Which one do you recommend?