• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Which SWFA 10x42 ss?

snatiep

Private
Minuteman
Feb 20, 2014
Hello Everyone!

First post here and am pretty excited!

I just ordered my first "long range" rifle, a Remington 700 5R milspec in .308

My only plans for the rifle are bench rest shooting out to 400 or 500 yards.

I'm going to buy a Harris bipod and think I have narrowed my choice of scope down.

I have read many good reviews on the SWFA 10x42 ss scope. I've never used a fixed power scope before but I think I would like the simplicity of them. I think I'll get the rear focus model.

My question is, should I get the 10x42 SWFA SS MOA scope or the 10x42 SWFA MRAD scope?

I don't know what the difference between MOA or MRAD is. Looking at the two on the SWFA website it looks like the reticles are different.

What is the difference between 1/4moa and .10Mrad?

Also, is 10x enough magnification for 500 yards? Or should I get one of the SWFA 12x or 16x scopes?

I thank you all very much for your thoughts and comments!

Once the rifle arrives and I pick it up, I'm sure I'll have many more questions to post.

Nate

Last edited: