• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

which / what 6.5 PRC dies?

davsco

Private
Minuteman
Jan 1, 2014
NoVa
brand new to reloading with a 6.5 PRC inbound. i like the rcbs competition seater dies (my first dies are .223 and that works real nice). but what other die(s) do i need for resizing etc? using a redding t7 turret press. type s, neck, bushing, full length, etc all that stuff is greek to me.

Part of what die you get will depend on what you are doing and how much work you are willing to put into this gun. Hunting gun? Just get a normal full length die. Long range precision? Might look at a type s full length bushing die. Skip the neck dies, there is an application for them but not this.

I'm a Newbie too, but learning fast. One of my early learnings was ... buy a full-size bushing die (like the Redding S) and a good seating die (like the Redding Competition). Skip the 3-die sets. A neck-only die isn't useful, at least for me.

To keep it simple buy a quality FL no n-bushing die, always full length size your brass every time......you can do that two ways, you can send fired brass and have someone make a die specific to your gun or get a regular die and go on with life and you probably won’t have runout issues right out of the gate.