• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Why do my groups open up over time?

Hawkertactical

Boogeyman Ballistics LLC
Minuteman
Jun 14, 2019
Morristown, Az
So I did load development for my 308 using Hornady 168gr HPBT and using Varget, 3 round groups touching. Ive been using this load for a 6 months now and I'm getting 2.5 to 3in groups at 100yrds. Is it tempature sensitivity (phx Az area)?

Attachments

• IMG_20200313_192517_281.jpg
    IMG_20200313_192517_281.jpg
    167 KB · Views: 69
No, Varget isn't that temperature sensitive.

You'll have to provide a lot more information for the guys here to help diagnose your problem. It could be anything from carbon buildup in the chamber, something you're doing, something wrong with the scope, action screws, the price of rice in China is going up, maybe you were on the wrong node and a change made a difference, Epstein didn't kill himself, what about lot changes between primer or bullet or powder,

No, Varget isn't that temperature sensitive.

You'll have to provide a lot more information for the guys here to help diagnose your problem. It could be anything from carbon buildup in the chamber, something you're doing, something wrong with the scope, action screws, the price of rice in China is going up, maybe you were on the wrong node and a change made a difference, Epstein didn't kill himself, what about lot changes between primer or bullet or powder,
Well it has been a while since I've cleaned my rifle, but it doesn't get shot very much, and yes the primer lots did change several times. Scope and mounts are all good and still torqued to spec

Clean your barrel and start over. If you’re using a nylon brush, get a bronze brush and run it only in one direction. Clean it real good.