• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Why no Ruger's?

jw1911

Private
Minuteman
Aug 5, 2009
Hartselle, Alabama, USA
I am new to LR shooting. And I consider 500 yards long range any way. So for up to and beyond 1000 yards... why doesn't any one use a Ruger?

It seems as tho every forum you hit (this one being my favorite) Remingtons dominate. Is this because the Remington is the dominant rifle or because its what our military uses?

I am trying to decide what to invest my money in for a long range rifle - up to 1k - maybe further if my skill level ever even reaches that.

I have several Rugers all of which I call "tack drivers." My M77 MkII in .243 is all but a same hole gun at 100 with a cheap ass Tasco World Class scope. I have won bets with this gun. I have a M77 in .270 and can cover 5 shots with a quarter. All with factory loads. I have a few .308s and a .30-06 as well. Basically I'm saying I really like Ruger products and have always been at a minimum satisfied with accuracy.

So why doesn't any one use a Ruger?

I also REALLY like Burris optics - primarily for "Made in the USA" and the quality, imho is at a minimum equal to anything I have seen from any other manufacturer.

All this rambling to get to this:

I want a 1k rifle and scope combo.

I may be starting on the wrong side here but I have all but made up my mind on a Burris XTR 624 - especially for the price. www.opticsplanet.com has them for $829 and the 3-12x50 version for $769.

What should I spend my money on (it doesn't grow on trees)?

thanks for your input and what would be a good book or video to start with?

Re: Why no Ruger's?